Southern Tier Double IPA Cheddar Soup

If you remember this fabulous beer dinner I went to at Garden in the Cellar in Cambridge, this dish may look familiar. I have not been able to get this soup (or the entire meal) out of my head since March, and I finally decided to try and re-create it.

As with other times that I have re-created something I loved from a restaurant or other event, I don’t really have a recipe. Although this drives some people crazy, I prefer to adjust, experiment and change the ingredients as I am cooking, and tasting. Enjoy, this is a perfect meal for a rainy day – the flavors are incredible!

Ingredients:

butter
celery, carrots, onion, coarsely diced
vegetable broth – a lot
3-4 yukon gold potatoes
extra-sharp cheddar – go for high quality for this recipe
jalapeno cheddar – I happened to have this in the fridge, not necessary, but awesome!
2 bottles of Southern Tier Double IPA, or any other delicious IPA
scallions
sour cream
bread,  for croutons

Directions:

1) heat 2-3 tablespoons of butter in a large saute pan over medium-low heat
2) coarsely dice carrots, celery and onions – about 1 lb of carrots and celery, and 2-3 white onions. sweat in large saute pan and add a healthy pinch of salt
3) once vegetables are softened and translucent (about 8-10 minutes), put them in a large sauce pot – this will be the home of your soup
4) add vegetable broth, I used almost all of a 32 oz. container (you can add chicken broth for a more savory soup, but I preferred it to be vegetarian, and more healthy)
5) meanwhile, peel and chop 3-4 small-medium potatoes and add to boiling water
6) once potatoes are cooked thoroughly, add to soup. stir ingredients well, and season to taste with salt, pepper and chili powder
7) cook soup (which should be brothy at this point) cook on medium-low for about 30 minutes
8) add IPA! I added about 2.5 bottles, and you could really taste the flavor of the beer
9) grate extra cheddar cheese, I used about 12 oz – do not buy pre-shredded!!
10) add soup mixture to a blender or food processor and mix until smooth and creamy
11) transfer soup back to stove top at low heat and add cheese in small amounts, waiting for each amount to melt.
12) let simmer on low for a few hours
13) garnish with chopped scallions, sour cream and homemade croutons, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

